International Plant & Animal Genome / PAG 32 • January 10-15, 2025 •  San Diego, CA, USA    Register Here

DSC 9947 2
The following grants were awarded during the opening comments before the Monday morning Plenary Session: Michael D. Gale Travel Grant Award, Jerome P. Miksche Travel Grant Award, Earl J. Scherago Travel Grant Award.

All other grants were awarded at the Closing Banquet at PAG 30.

DSC 9433 sm

PAG Organizing Committe Chairman Stephen R. Heller, with Gokhan Hacisalihoglu (Earl J. Scherago Travel Grant Award) and Maxim Messerer (Michael D. Gale Travel Grant Award). Valentin Hammoudi (Jerome P. Miksche Travel Grant Award) was not in attendance.


Michael D. Gale Travel Grant Award (2022 Winner)

Maxim Messerer
Helmholtz Center Munich, German Research Center for Environmental Health (GmbH), Germany
Abstract: "A Dynamic Epigenomic Landscape in Synthetic Hybrid Wheat Establishes Stable Changes in Gene Expression"


Jerome P. Miksche Travel Grant Award (2022 Winner)

Valentin Hammoudi
Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Abstract: "Characterization of SPPiDDR, a DNA-Damage Responsive 'lncRNA'"


Earl J. Scherago Travel Grant Award (2022 Winner)

Gokhan Hacisalihoglu
Florida A&M University, USA
Abstract: "Genomics of Soybean Response to Phosphorous Stress"


DSC 9950

Pictured: Ashkley G. Yow

Scherago International Student Travel Grants Awards
(2022 Winners)


Christian Persichilli
Department of Agricultural, Environmental and Food Sciences, University of Molise, Campobasso, Italy
Abstract: “Looking for Genomic Adaptation in Local Mediterranean Sheep Breeds”

Eduardo E. Rodriguez

Department of Animal Sciences, University of Florida, USA
Abstract: “Genome-Wide Association and Gene Network Analysis of Brangus Beef Fatty Acid Composition”



Priscilla Denise Glenn
University of California, Davis, USA
Abstract:  “Identification and Characterization of a Natural Polymorphidm in FT-A2 Associated with Increased Number of Grains per Spike in Wheat”

Ashley G. Yow
North Carolina State University, Plants for Human Health Institute, NC
Abstract:  “An Improved High-Quality Genome Assembly and Annotation of Pineapple Cultivar MD2”

Atit Parajuli
Washington State University, USA
Abstract:  "Bulked Exome Capture Sequencing Identified Numerous Genetic Loci Associated with Alfalfa Growth Vigor during Self-Pollination Inbreeding"

  • Neal A. Jorgensen Genome Travel Award Winners
  • Suraj Bhattarai (Cattle)
    Suraj Bhattarai (Cattle)
  • Guangsheng Li (Cattle)
    Guangsheng Li (Cattle)
  • Wenjing Yang (Cattle)
    Wenjing Yang (Cattle)
  • Kuan Ling (Poultry)
    Kuan Ling (Poultry)
  • Morgan Stegemiller (Sheep - 2022 Winner)
    Morgan Stegemiller (Sheep - 2022 Winner)
  • Penny Yang (Swine)
  • Carrie Meeks (Swine)
  • Vishesh Bhatia (Swine)
  • Ashma Chakrawarti (Livestock Bioinformatics)
    Ashma Chakrawarti (Livestock Bioinformatics)

Neal A. Jorgensen Genome Travel Awards


Anna Goldkamp
Oklahoma State University, USA
Abstract:  "Global assessment of translational regulation across bovine tissues"

Suraj Bhattarai   
University of Vermont, USA
Abstract:  "Comparative epigenomics reveals the impact of domestication on methylation profiles between cattle and bison"

Guangsheng Li
Cornell University, USA
"Heat Stress Induced Transcriptome Changes in Lactating Dairy Cow Liver"

Wenjing Yang  
UC Davis, USA
"Identifying genetic variants underlying gene co-expression networks across 13 tissues in cattle"



Balaji Sundararaman
University of California Santa Cruz, USA
Abstract:  "Circular Nucleic acid Enrichment Reagents for targeted sequencing"



Kuan Ling
University of Delaware, USA
Abstract:  "Single-Cell RNA Sequencing Analysis of Chicken Embryonic Pituitary Cells Reveals Hormone-producing Cell Types and Heterogeneity"

Parker Straight
University of Arkansas, USA
Abstract:  "Reconciling Conflicting Interpretations of the Visual Tectofugal Pathway in the Chicken (Gallus gallus), using 3D Reconstruction"


Sheep (2022 Winner)

Morgan Stegemiller
University of Idaho, USA
Abstract:  "Comparison of US Sheep Breeds through Genotyping and Whole Genome Sequencing"


Swine (2022 Winners)

Henry Pratt
UMass Chan Medical School, USA
Evolution and Pathophysiologic Impact of Mammalian Transcription Factor Binding Sites"

Fei Zhang
Michigan State University, USA
Abstract:  "Gut Microbiota Associated with Host Feeding Behavior and Microbial Prediction of Growth And Carcass Traits in Swine"

He Yuqing
North Carolina State University, USA
Abstract: "Mapping Splice QTLs Reveals Distinct Transcriptional and Post-Transcriptional Regulatory Variation of Gene Expression in Pigs"


Swine (2023 Winners)

Vishesh Bhatia
Iowa State University, USA
Abstract: "Genomic Regions Associated With Susceptibility to Sow Pelvic Organ Prolapse"

Carrie Meeks
Iowa State University, USA
Abstract: "3’mRNA-Seq Analysis of the Effects of Weaning and Influenza Infection on Gene Expression in Whole Blood of Pigs"

Pengxin (Penny) Yang
Iowa State University, USA
Abstract:  "Definition of Regulatory Elements and Transcription Factors Controlling Immune Cell Gene Expression at Single Cell Resolution Using Single Cell ATAC-Seq"


Livestock Bioinformatics

Ashma Chakrawarti   
University of Vermont, USA
"Distribution of genes encoding Restriction Modification System, Antimicrobial Resistance, and Immune Evasion Cluster in S. aureus lineages at cow-human interface"

 DSC 9952 2

Pictured: Monica Vallender

Aquaculture Species Group Student and Postdoctoral Fellowship Bursaries
(2022 Winners)

Matthew George
University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA
Abstract: "Ploidy mediates the stress response of Pacific oysters following marine heatwave exposure"

Monica Vallender
University of Otago, New Zealand
Abstract: "A population genetics approach with low depth genotype-by-sequencing (GBS) to inform stock management of wild and farmed Chinook salmon (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha) in New Zealand"

Ridwan Olawale Ahmed
University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA
Abstract: "Gene expression signature and genetic polymorphism associated with fillet pink color in Rainbow trout"

 DSC 9972 2

Mateus Mondin accepted the James. E. Irvine Travel grant from Nathalie Piperidis, on behalf of this year's recipient Gleicy Kelly de Oliveira.

James E. Irvine Travel Award (International Consortium for Sugarcane Biotechnology)

Gleicy Kelly de Oliveira
Escola Superior de Agricultura "Luiz de Queiroz", Universidad De Sao Paolo

PAG 31 Archives

Thank you to all who attended PAG 31!

Archives from our 2024 conference are linked below.

PAG Future Dates

PAG 32 - January 10-15, 2025

PAG 33 - January 9-14, 2026

PAG 34 - January 8-13, 2027

San Diego, CA

Get Updates

FaceBook 48x48   Like Us on Facebook

email icon48  Join Our Mailing List